New SOS Free Products and Cooking Classes

26 Sweet and Cheap Vegan Candies at Walmart

girl with sucker Looking for Vegan Candies? Find Jolly Ranchers at Walmart!

Looking for Vegan Candy?

We recently visited our local Walmart in the U.S. and discovered a selection of 26 vegan candies available! We’ve compiled a list of our findings below to help you on your next shopping trip for Halloween or Easter, or any other occasion where you might be looking for vegan candy options.

While there are certainly more vegan candies out there, these are the ones we came across in the candy aisle at an affordable price point. They make a great addition to movie nights, and children’s birthday parties, and are perfect for Halloween or Easter baskets.

We’ve also included information on sneaky non-vegan ingredients found in some candies, so you can ensure that your chosen candy is vegan-friendly. With this guide, you’ll never have to compromise on your vegan lifestyle or sweet tooth cravings. Happy snacking

Table of Contents

Sneaky Non Vegan Ingredients in Candies

Vegans avoid animal products of any kind, including dairy. When following a vegan diet, you’ll want to be aware of a few non-vegan ingredients that may be hiding in foods. Always read your labels and watch for the following ingredients in everything you buy.

Sometimes, the manufacturers may change an ingredient, and your favorite item is no longer vegan, or vice-versa. Also, some countries differ in their ingredient list for the same product. For example, did you know that LAYS Salt and Vinegar Chips are vegan in the United States but NOT so in Canada since they contain lactose? Always double check to be sure!

Here’s a quick list of a few ingredients that you may not realize aren’t vegan. So if these are on your label and you are a strict vegan, put it back on the shelf.

Beeswax is not vegan

Beeswax is an ingredient that many vegans avoid. The wax is produced by worker bees in hives and is used to build honeycombs, which does not meet the standard of being a non-animal product.

Honey is not vegan

Honey is produced by bees, therefore non-vegan.

Casein is not vegan

Casein is a protein derived from animal’s milk—usually cow or sheep—and is the main component in cheese making. This ingredient is also listed as calcium caseinate or sodium caseinate.

Lactose is not vegan

Lactose is a sugar present in milk.

Carmine is not vegan

Carmine is a  red pigment made from the crushed female cochineal insect.

Confectioner’s Glaze is not vegan

Confectioner’s Glaze also listed as resinous glazeshellacnatural glaze, or pure food glaze. This glaze comes from the hardened resinous material secreted by the lac insect and creates a super glossy sheen.

Gelatin is not vegan

Gelatin and Gelatin Products, derived from animal collagen. Gelatin is a colorless odorless gelling agent often found in candies or other processed foods, particularly marshmallows, fruit snacks, and jelly candies. It’s also sold under the brand-name of Jell-O.

  • If you are looking for a vegan alternative to gelatin, perhaps for a recipe,  Carrageenan is one and is a powder derived from seaweed. Agar-agar is another, made from cooked and pressed algae, a plant product.

L. Cysteine is not vegan

L. Cysteine is an ingredient, often sourced from feathers or human hair! It is a dough conditioner listed in some pre-packaged breads and baked goods.

Whey is not vegan

Whey is a common ingredient in many foods, especially bread and candies, and is a by-product of cheese making. Whey is the liquid that remains once milk has been curdled or churned and then strained. Once milk has been curdled, it easily separates into curd (solid) and whey (liquid).

Lard is not vegan

Lard is fat from the abdomen of a pig that is rendered and clarified for use in cooking. You may find this in baked goods.

Bone Char Sugar is not vegan

Another thing some vegans worry about is bone-char sugar. Bone char is widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows sugar to achieve its white color. The bone char is made from the bones of cattle from countries like Afghanistan, Argentina, India, and Pakistan. To dive deeper into the topic of bone char sugar, check out the following websites on the topic.



Vegan Candies FAQ

No, Tootsie Rolls are not vegan as they contain milk and eggs.

Traditional gummy bears are not vegan as they contain gelatin, which is made from animal bones, skin, and cartilage. However, there are some vegan gummy bear alternatives available.

Some vegan chocolate brands include Enjoy Life, Theo Chocolate, and Alter Eco.

No, Kit Kats are not vegan as they contain milk and whey.

Some flavors of Pringles are vegan, but others contain milk or animal-derived ingredients, so it’s important to check the ingredient list.

Some flavors of Doritos are vegan, but others contain milk or animal-derived ingredients, so it’s important to check the ingredient list.

Accordion Content

Starburst candies are not vegan as they contain gelatin, which is made from animal parts.

Accidentally vegan foods include Oreos, Ritz crackers, some flavors of Pringles and Doritos, and some types of pasta.

Traditional marshmallows are not vegan as they contain gelatin, which is made from animal parts. However, there are some vegan marshmallow alternatives available.

Most Lindt candies are not vegan as they contain milk and/or milk products. However, Lindt does offer some vegan options, such as their Excellence 70% and 85% cocoa bars.

No, Werther’s Original candies are not vegan as they contain milk and butter.

Most Lifesavers candies are not vegan as they contain gelatin, which is made from animal parts. However, there are some vegan Lifesavers options available.

No, Snickers are not vegan as they contain milk and egg.

Some vegan chip options include plain potato chips, some flavors of Pringles and Doritos, and some tortilla chips.

Some vegan gummy candy alternatives include those made with agar agar, pectin, or tapioca starch instead of gelatin.

Yes, Ritz crackers are vegan.

Yes, peanut butter is vegan as it is made solely from peanuts.

No, honey is not considered vegan as it is produced by bees.

Yes, plain popcorn is vegan. However, it’s important to check the ingredients of flavored or pre-packaged popcorn.

No, peanut M&M’s are not vegan as they contain milk.

Yes, Sweet Tarts are vegan.

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegan Candies?

Yes, Jolly Rancher’s are vegan and a popular favorite candy! Choose from 3 varieties. The classic hard candy, bites, or fruit chews. Jolly Rancher is an American brand of sweet, somewhat tangy or sour/sweet hard candy. They also produce gummies, jelly beans, lollipops, gelatin desserts, gum, and sodas. It is currently owned by The Hershey Company.

Yes, Laffy Taffy is Vegan!

Laffy Taffy is a brand of taffy produced by the Ferrara Candy Company, a subsidiary of Ferrero SpA. The candies are individually wrapped and available in a variety of artificial fruit flavors including banana, strawberry, green apple, grape, and blueberry, as well as a chocolate mousse flavor. The name refers to both the texture of the taffy as well as its embodiment of silliness; jokes are written on the inside of each wrapper! How fun!

Is Hubba Bubba Bubble Gum Vegan?

Yes! You guessed it! Hubba Bubba is a brand of bubble gum originally produced by Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company in 1979 The bubble gum got its name from the phrase “Hubba Hubba”, which some military personnel in World War II used to express approval. The main gimmick used to promote the gum is that as Hubba Bubba’s is less sticky than other brands of gum it is easier to peel off your skin after a bubble bursts.

Dum-Dums Lollipops are Vegan too!

Dum Dums, the classic, all American lollipop has been a favorite since 1924. With 16 fun flavors plus its signature Mystery Flavor, these pops are perfect for all ages. They were named “Dum Dums” because the company believed it to be a phrase any child could say.

All Sour Patch Kids are Vegan Candies!

Sour Patch Kids started out as Mars Men, little alien people that were sold for one cent (U.S.) each. The inspiration and the design was in the 1970’s when there were a lot of UFO sightings in the Western World. Later they were named Sour Patch Kids to capitalize on the Cabbage Patch Kids obsession. The child character on the original package was Frank Galatolie’s son, Scott, in cartoon. Frank was the national sales manager at the time.

The process of creating the sour-coated gummy candy was developed in the late 1970s, and this “alien” approach was the first candy to be tested with a sour coating.

Guess What? Swedish Fish are Vegan too!

Swedish Fish is a fish-shaped, chewy candy originally developed by Swedish candy producer Malaco in the late 1950s for the U.S. market. The wrapper calls them “a fat-free food” and they are marketed in different colors and flavors.

(Some Swedish Fish contain beeswax, so be sure to check the label).

DOTS are recognized by PETA as a Vegan Candy

Dots, or Mason Dots (trademarked DOTS), is a brand of gumdrops marketed by Tootsie Roll Industries, which claims that “since its 1945 launch,” the candy has become “America’s…#1 selling gumdrop brand.” According to advertisements, more than four billion dots are produced from the Tootsie Roll Industries Chicago plant each year.

Are Skittles Vegan Candies?

Skittles is a brand of fruit-flavored candy, currently produced and marketed by the Wrigley Company a division of Mars, Inc. Skittles consist of hard sugar shells imprinted with the letter “S“. I have not yet met a child who does not like Skittles. We found these three varieties; Original, Sour and Wild Berry. Skittles are Vegan candy too!

Everlasting Gobstopper is Willy Wonka Vegan!

I used to love these as a kid! The Everlasting Gobstopper is a candy from Roald Dahl’s 1964 children’s novel Charlie and the Chocolate Factory that, intended, according to Willy Wonka, “for children with very little pocket money”, not only changes colors and flavors but also never get any smaller and never disappear. In 1976 the name of the fictional candy was used for a product similar to a normal gobstopper, or jawbreaker.

Are Red Vines Vegan?

Red Vines is a brand of red licorice candy manufactured in California. Red Vines are the official candy of the University of Chicago Scavenger Hunt. Red Vines Original Red Twists are also sometimes referred to as red licorice despite containing no licorice. Yay, Red Vines are Vegan!


Are Twizzlers Vegan?

Yes! While the original flavor introduced in 1845 was licorice, in the late 1970s the company began to expand its flavors to include strawberry, grape, chocolate, cherry, and watermelon flavors, and a variety of shapes and sizes. In addition to their Twists, Bites, and Nibs of various sizes, Y&S introduced Pull ‘n’ Peel in 1994. 

Twerpz and Strawz came along in 2004. Limited edition cherry cola and “rainbow” (fruit variety consisting of strawberry, orange, lemonade, watermelon, blue raspberry, and grape) flavors were introduced in 2006. Today all these flavors of “rainbow” Twizzlers are still sold in stores and movie theaters.

Healthy Vegan Snacks

Each month our snack gurus will ship you a curated box of delicious goodies that have passed our taste and nutritional standards. You’ll just focus on snacking!

Sam’s Choice Swiss Dark Chocolate is a Great Deal for Vegan Chocolate

Our classic Swiss Dark Chocolate bars are made with a high percentage of cocoa and are exclusively crafted in Switzerland from a premium blend of ingredients. The cocoa beans are expertly roasted and combined using a bean to bar process, yielding a velvety smooth finish. This chocolate is not overly sweet and makes a satisfying, simple dessert or treat.

Air Heads are Vegan

AirHeads are a tangy, taffy-like, chewy candy manufactured by Dutch-Italian company Perfetti Van Melle in Kentucky. The candy is available in over 16 different flavors.

Here we have 6 assorted bars: Grape, Orange, Cherry, White Mystery, Blue Raspberry, and Watermelon. I’m inclined to buy these just to find out what the White Mystery flavor is!

Air Heads Xtremes are Vegan also

AirHeads Xtremes are a tangy, taffy-like, chewy candy. A playful combination of fruity, sweet. and sour taking to the extreme.

red pushpin pinterest

Pin an image to read later.

Are Smarties Candy Rolls Vegan?

In the United States, Smarties are a type of tablet candy produced by Smarties Candy Company. The candies distributed in Canada are marketed as Rockets, to avoid confusion with Nestlé’s Smarties (which are candy covered chocolate and are not a vegan candy).

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are so Vegan! 

Think of your favorite peanut butter cup. Next, magnify that feeling by a gazillion – that’s ours. Nuts? Yes. Crazy? No. Just imagine what happens when I take the best tasting organic peanut butter in the world and delicately place it into the highest quality, organic and Rainforest Alliance certified chocolate available. Yup. Peanut butter cup perfection!

Get your full free Vegan Candies List!

Enjoy these great vegan candies and snacks with your guide – a comprehensive list of vegan candies.

Stay Connected

Related posts